Taking Care of Donna…


Dear Readers,

I received a very interesting email from “Donna” over the weekend. She writes:

Dear Truth:

My name is “Donna” and I’m 27 years old. Every month before my period I am a complete weepster. I cry, I get angry, I’m MORE than moody! What can I do, other than going on antidepressants to manage my feelings? My kids don’t get their real mom….they get “HellMom” I feel so guilty about not being able to be there for them. I can’t seem to get organized or even shower sometimes! HELP!”

Boy OH boy that is loaded, eh girls!?? I think all women experience this from one degree to another, especially as young mothers. There are several things you can try to help even out your emotions. You could be clinically depressed or maybe you are just overwhelmed with responsibility. The only way to tell the difference is to keep a daily journal of how you are feeling, both physically and emotionally over a period of time. Let’s say 3 cycles. Then visit your doctor. As always, the only advice I offer is from my own personal experience and in no way should be taken as medical advice! If at ANY time you ever consider hurting yourself or others, even it is a fleeting thought, get to your doctor RIGHT AWAY!

Dear Donna:

    I feel for you sister! I think that you are most likely overwhelmed at this point and you need to find a way to unplug and relax every single day no matter what! Here are some things that can help when you feel stressed: meditation, prayer, gentle yoga, talking with a friend (without kids present) either on the phone or go have coffee, a hot bath, time for your iPod, walking or even essential oils can help. Mix a few of these activities together and you could very well get spoiled! But the point of the matter is to focus ON YOU and ONLY YOU for at least ONE HOUR everyday. Even if it’s 11 o’clock at night and you have to get up at 5 am, consider using some deep breathing exercises in a hot bath with essential oils for at least 10 minutes. That 10 minutes could change the quality of your sleep, which will, in turn, change your mood for the next day. Just for a week, try getting your kids to bed an hour earlier so that you can indulge in that candlelit hot bath! If you have a partner, include him or her in the routine to take some of the load off. If your house isn’t sparkling clean, who cares! You can take care of it later. Your hour is YOUR hour and YOU DESERVE IT! Protect it! If your kids are old enough, have them help with chores. The more time you can make for yourself right now, the better off you will be.

As far as using essential oils, I recommend the book “The Complete Book of Essential Oils & Aromatherapy” by Valerie Ann Worwood. Here is a link to Amazon  http://www.amazon.com/Complete-Book-Essential-Oils-Aromatherapy/dp/0931432820. There is a chapter on women’s natural health that address formulas for the different kinds of PMS. This is a complete guide for the beginner and novice alike. You can purchase essential oils in your local organic or health food stores for a pretty reasonable price. I highly recommend that you pick up a few. Donna, deary, you have to take care of yourself first or there will be nothing to give to the ones you love. If you have family and friends to help, involve them with how you are feeling. They love you and I’m sure if they know how you are feeling, they will want to help you. ALLOW THEM SUPERWOMAN!! If you are in a situation where family is far (aka: military wife) go to support groups, playgroups, anything to help you make friends and network to make that hour remain yours!! If you need help planning a schedule, please let me know! Time management is also important during times where we are pulled in many directions. Know what you have to do during the day so that you can plan to NOT take on too much! Protect your hour! We are all here to support you, Donna! You can do it!! So to summarize:

1. One hour of ME time per day. More if you can swing it.

2. Journal every day for a few cycles to document how you are feeling emotionally and physically

3. Visit your doctor and share your findings.

4. Ask for help in doing daily tasks to lighten your load.

Donna, I wish you the best, sweetie! Take care of you for me and keep me posted!

Leave a Reply

