How’s Your Mom?


I had an experience today that was more like a heavenly story instead of the butt ugly truth. It was a bit mystical, a bit soft-hearted, and very sweet! Here’s what happened:

So I was in the grocery store today trying to decide which brand of coffee to buy (curious because I only drink Starbucks) when I hear this soft little boy’s voice talking to his mother. It caught my ear because I was alone in my aisle and the store wasn’t busy. It was just… all of a sudden! This little voice lifted above the quiet, above the price argument in my head, above everything and just nestled itself right inside my ears. Kind of like when you hear a handbell ring in church. So I listened to see if I could hear what he was saying. He couldn’t have been more than 3 or 4 years old. He said to his momma “Momma, how did you know where I was?” and she replied “Because I’m your momma and I know everything about you!” I could hear the smile in her voice along with the love and nurturing she feels for her son.

That sweet little boy’s voice brought me to a personal reflection of my own mother and my mother-in-law and the butt ugly truth is that most of the times, our mothers (or mother figures in some cases) do know just about everything about us. Most of the time, they know more about us than we do! I’m very close with my mother and that can be a good thing and at the same time a bad thing. She lives on the east coast and I live on the west coast but no matter where my travels have taken me over the years, be it overseas or across the US, she calls me everyday or at least 3 times a week. We are both scorpios and that should be enough to explain what how tumultuous our relationship can be! My mother is mostly my best friend but yesterday she broke up with me. Don’t worry, we got back together today and it was so silly. We both must have taken our meds late! This brought me to wonder about how other people get along – or don’t – with their parents.

So how is your relationship with your mother? Do you speak with her often, rarely, too much, too little? I want to do a story on mother’s and their adult children’s relationships so send me your stories about how you and your mom get along and about the challenges you may have. As always, submissions that turn into stories are always kept anonymous unless you specifically ask to be identified. Send your submissions to thebuttuglytruth@gmail.com so I can get some awesome reflections posted!

Love,

Crystal

Leave a Reply

